Dunkin Donuts Pulls “Keffiyeh” Rachael Ray Ad

Dunkin Donuts has abruptly pulled an ad in which Rachael Ray wears a scarf which resembles, according to conservative commentator Michelle Malkin at least, a keffiyeh — a traditional scarf of Arab men.

Malkin goes on to say:

‘‘Popularized by Yasser Arafat and a regular adornment of Muslim terrorists appearing in beheading and hostage-taking videos, the apparel has been mainstreamed by both ignorant and not-so-ignorant fashion designers, celebrities, and left-wing icons.’’

Dunkin Donuts denied that the scarf was a keffiyeh. But after right-wing pressure, they yanked the ad, saying,

‘‘In a recent online ad, Rachael Ray is wearing a black-and-white silk scarf with a paisley design. It was selected by her stylist for the advertising shoot. Absolutely no symbolism was intended. However, given the possibility of misperception, we are no longer using the commercial.’’

What do you think? Should Dunkin Donuts have pulled the ad? And does the scarf resemble a keffiyeh? Or is this just paranoia and fearmongering?

(via Boston Magazine)

20 responses to “Dunkin Donuts Pulls “Keffiyeh” Rachael Ray Ad

  1. I doubt that the scarf was meant to be a keffiyeh, and I don’t think they should have to pull it. I mean, even if it were, it’d be a stretch to suggest that this add is promoting terrorism. In other words, paranoia and fearmongering is my bet.

  2. I think Michelle Malkin is certifiably nuts. Shame on her.

  3. I think the whole thing is ridiculous. Rachel Ray is probably wearing it because she thinks it looks funky or cool. Or some wardrobe person gave it to her.

  4. It is soooo crazy that in “America” people can’t wear a scarf because of someone elses religious beliefs….I can see if u were in Iraq, Iran, etc…but in what California????

  5. ponderingpastor

    And what is wrong with wearing a keffiyeh? Nothing!

    My wife was spat upon when wearing one the same way once. Awful!

  6. The Keffiyeh is not a tool of “terrorism” it is meant to keep sun exposure down and occasionally sand out of the mouth.

  7. If I worked in PR, I would not have let Dunkin bow to a slow news day.

  8. Well, I guess I can see that Dunkin’ Donuts wouldn’t want to be associated, even by a ridiculous illogical stretch, with terrorism. So I don’t have a problem, per se, with them pulling the ad. But pulling the ad does, it seem to me, send the message that the criticism was in some small way, valid, rather than ridiculous. Anyone who thinks Dunkin’ Donuts or Rachel Raye are in any way associated with terrorism and that this was some sort of secret message, well… I bet Joe McCarthy might tell them that they were just being paranoid.

  9. Maybe I’m an idiot, but I would have never made the connection myself. My first thought was “Ooh, cute scarf.” followed quickly by “The woman drives me nuts!” It’s amazing what Ms Malkin can lead even the most logical amongst us to believe.

  10. Um… it’s a scarf.

    These scarves have been around since long before anyone here had a problem with Muslims.

    I bet somewhere there’s a picture of Malkin wearing a scarf like that herself at some point in time. Which is my point. It’s a scarf, who cares?

    There’s loads of pics of our troops over there wearing them, most likely for practical reasons. Would she say our troops are supporting Jihad? I bet not.

    So should I not go to the beach any more because the terrorists live in sandy places?

    I wonder if Ms. Ray will address this. Curious to hear her reaction. And I’d bet the farm that her reaction would be “Um… it’s a scarf.”

  11. Hmmm!

    Are they now going to pull all commercials by someone wearing a shirt, because Adolf Hitler wore a shirt?

  12. For the uninformed commentators on this board who don’t see this as a big deal, or who believe that “it’s just a scarf,” I am sure that Yasser Arafat (if he were alive) would strongly disagree.

  13. Well, I think it was a great idea to pull the commercial. Ever since the first time I saw it, all I can think about is selling everything I have to go live in the middle east, join a terrorist group, and kill lots of people while sipping a frozen coffee. Shame on Dunkin Donuts for making me feel this way.

    …Ya, not really. I had enough trouble trying to decide whether she pulled the scarf out of a dumpster or if it was purposeful for it to look like it had been ripped to shreds.

  14. I’m pretty sure Arafat would laugh in your face on the basis that this is such a stupid ploy of fear mongering among the ignorant over a scarf.

    Not to mention the special forces and other military soldiers that make use of theses scarves on a regular basis.

  15. I’m very much in favor of pulling any Rachael Ray ad.

  16. Are these the same nuts who changed the name of my favorite potatoes to “freedom fries?”

  17. We should start a reverse-boycott campaign against Dunkin Donuts for pulling the ad. There should be a certain list of wacko-pundits who are automatically considered outside the pale in matters of their opinions – Michelle Malkin, Anne Coulter, Michael Savage. Critiques by these types should be considered a badge of honor by corporate America.

  18. All I can say is that we now have proof that Dunkin Donuts does make the brain go to mush. Move over Britney Spears and Paris Hilton, meet Dunkin!

  19. Pingback: Dunkin Donuts Pulls Ad…Late to the game on this…BUT..I do think Michelle Malkin is becoming The Arianna Huffinton of The Right. « Tizona’s Weblog

  20. Michelle Malkin is……special.

    And the whole furor over the scarf was dumb.

Leave a Reply

