Cubicle Decor: How Much Is Too Much?

This CNN article on office cubicles really got me thinking — how much office decoration is too much? What are the limits?

The article covers office workers who have decorated their cubicles in the following themes:

* The Hulk

* My Little Pony

* Dr Seuss

* Happy Meal Toys

* GI Joe

In some cases, the toys and other paraphernalia literally cover every inch, minus work space, of the entire cubicle.

Now, the pros of having your office decorated in such an unique manner are obvious. It makes you feel more at home and gives you a sense of individuality from within a sea of corporate-beige.

However, the cons:

* Officemates distracted and annoyed

* You distracted by your own awesome collection

* Employers might be biased against you based on your whimsical interests. For example, the woman with the My Little Ponies. What if she gets passed up for that promotion because somebody thinks she’s not “mature” enough — even though she most probably might be more than qualified?

In the end, however, you spend so much time at your job that you need it to be not only comfortable but a place where you can be yourself to a degree.

What do you think? How do you decorate your office space?

(here is another article on cubicle decorations from The New York Post)

6 responses to “Cubicle Decor: How Much Is Too Much?

  1. “In some cases, the toys and other paraphernalia literally cover every inch, minus work space, of the entire cubicle.”

    That is just creepy. I do like the chair inside the book case. Do they sell those somewhere?

  2. I decorated my office space with this. The work PC is to the right of it. Of course, I work from home so I guess I’m cheating a bit. But my job carries a fair bit of downtime – when I’m testing computer infection files, some of it is automated and you can’t touch the PC while it’s doing its thing – so the consoles help fill up the boredom.

    While I’m at it, here’s a nifty selection of reading material I keep at the bottom of the stairs (my workspace is a converted attic and the bookshelf room is below it).

  3. Actually, I don’t. Years as a temp have left me leery of getting “too comfortable” at any one job.

  4. You can definitely go overboard. I’m always concsious of that. I keep it minimal. The smaller, the better. I’ve got a tiny, HeroClix Iron Man (from this year’s FCBD), and a tiny, Bust-Ups Hellboy under my computer monitor. A Tardis bank and a Captain America bobblehead stand amidst my company recognition certificates etc. above my cube’s cabinets. I’ve also got a small, telephone pole-stapled-sized GraniteCon poster (Ethan Van Sciver art):
    http://meowblogger.blogspot.com/2008/05/01-love-love.html

  5. When I was in a cube I definitely tried to be aware of how others perceive me at work. I keep one piece, just enough for people to go “hey that’s cool” or to ignore if they so choose. That piece? A Marvel Comics “Thing” statue about the size of telephone handset, that sat just to the right of my monitor. Whatever I was doing, it must have worked, cause now I’m in my own office with more space to showcase my comic-related awesomeness. Though I’ve only expanded to a “Madman” lunchbox. Err on side of conservatism.

  6. The outside of the front right “cubicle” has the very first obnoxious LOLCAT image: “Hang In There.”

Leave a Reply

